Dog's begging!

A forum dedicated to chat about maps and the Source SDK for any Mod including tips and tutorials.
Dog
Server Ops
Server Ops

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Dog's begging!

Post by Dog » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:55 pm

I'm coming cap-in-hand!

As Bee and Hammer know, I'm no mapper and know jack-diddly-squat about creating one, and to be honest, never want to! I'm just a programmer!

Right now, for Cube Soccer, we have two maps - a soccer field one which I decompiled (ahem) and stripped, and Bee's old Valley map he originally made for me in DoDS, which I clumsily converted to TF2. He has kindly agreed to tighten these two maps up and make them much better!

However, two maps, is boring. So if anyone out there would like to make very simple maps for Cube Soccer, I'd be grateful!

The maps need to very simple. The whole concept is based on something Bee and me came up with last year:

A mapper's big problem is that maps are copied and everyone gets a copy when they play, which then can be transferred on to other servers. e.g. Avantiville is played all over the place, even though it is a Ville map!

So Bee and me came up with a plan last year.
A basic map would be created which would then rely on a program to run.
If anyone tried to copy the map for their own servers, it wouldn't work properly.

Cube Soccer does just that.
A Cube Soccer map is basically just scenery and one or two props. No CPs. No Intel. Nothing. The map is useless and is only good for death match.
Each side has spawn areas.

And that's as complicated as it gets.

The rest of the work is done by the program.
For example, in the Cube Soccer, the goal posts, the Cube and all the logic is done by the program. As a mapper, you would not have to worry about any of that stuff - just create an interesting playing surface for the cube to bounce around.

So the map is not usable without the program and no-one outside TheVille can copy it!
:D

So if you are interested, let me know!
Thanks!