greybeard
Villun
Villun

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Education Ideas

Post by greybeard » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:01 pm

Calling any and all of the Minecrafters from The Ville!

I am a high school teacher in an alternative education setting (read the boys and girls who haven't much use for rules and regular classrooms). The principal agreed to let me run a class to use Minecraft as the engine for education. I have some ideas (enough to sell the class) about projects to do. For example, project #1 will be to build two buildings that are in a 2:1 scale. Another project will be to build a building that has an exact volume (say 100 blocks). Another idea is to build a maze from geometric shapes that all have an area of 48 blocks (a square with area of 48, a rectangle with area of 48, and so on through parallelograms, etc. ). Knowing that many brains are better than one, I would like to hear your ideas, comments, and suggestions. Thanks in advance for your creativity, thoughts, and help.

Greybeard

ADevilishPotato
Server Ops
Server Ops

Games Played

Ville Awards

Re: Education Ideas

Post by ADevilishPotato » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:19 pm

I get the feeling that you have seen this, but there is this nice teaching wbsite: http://minecraftedu.com/page/

And this nice discussion forum: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum ... t-teachers
WARPATH Cup '12- [WARPATH] We are running past all the heavies
The Ville Cup '12- (DYD) Dirty Dan's Double D's
Dust Bowl loves Warpath '13- (CD-i) Chokepoints and Demomen- international (Champions!)
The Ville Cup '13- [T^5] Tuber's Truly Terrifying Tator Tots
The Ville Cup '14- GCI_ Guild of Calamitous Intent

Inner
Server Admin
Server Admin

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Post by Inner » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:20 pm

Nice finds Potato!

greybeard
Villun
Villun

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Post by greybeard » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:12 pm