Stupid things you have done at work and wont do again.

If your post doesn't fit any other boards subject, then post it here
John Doe
Site Admin
Site Admin

Games Played

Ville Awards

Stupid things you have done at work and wont do again.

Post by John Doe » Thu Jun 04, 2015 4:58 pm

Well, I thought I would give everyone a laugh at my expense and tell you about a learning experience I had at work many years ago.

Feel free to post a reply with some of the boneheaded things you have done over the years and if you took away anything from the experience or if your likely to make the same mistake again.

Ok, here is a little background on Ole JD. I work for a large company with over 1000 employees, I have been here for 26 years and when I started we had just over 400 employees. In my early days with the company I was a desktop support technician, doing hardware and software support, deploying equipment, solving problems and interacting directly with our customers.

The specific details of this story are a little fuzzy but the overall story is still intact, it was a valuable learning experience for me and to this day I have never ever made the same mistake.

So Mr. Doe was at a customers desk, I suspect I was replacing their PC or monitor or something like that as I needed to crawl under the desk to plug in cords. And while I was working in this persons cube I was making smalltalk, just being friendly, trying to keep her distracted while I did my work. Well, the customer was female and as I was about to crawl under her desk to plug something in I asked her when she was due (yes, I had assumed she was pregnant).

She replied to my question that she wasnt due.........and to this day I dont know how I managed to crawl out from under that desk, because I was so embarrassed for asking such a question and I felt very bad for her and for the situation I found myself in.