Mapping Tutorial

A forum dedicated to chat about maps and the Source SDK for any Mod including tips and tutorials.
l3eeron
Retired Admin
Retired Admin

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Mapping Tutorial

Post by l3eeron » Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:32 pm

So, you wanna try to make map for DoDS but you don't know where to start. Well, my friend this is your lucky day. I am going to illustrate how to make the most basic map. I have been mapping for about 2 years now, off and on. I have tested and tried many many tutorials along with some of my own ideas. This is intended to be an intro to the Hammer world editor to get you started in the right direction. It can be overwhelmimg, the amount of things you can manipulate. Ill point the basics and go over some of the terms used in mapping.

Get the Source SDK (software developer kit)

Go to your steam window and find the tools tab. In the tools window click and install Source SDK if it isnt already (its free)

Launch the SDK. In the bottom of the SDK dialog box, change the mod to DoDS (or what ever mod you're mapping for)

Then launch Hammer

Before we go any further I need to define a few terms. Here are the Source SDK documents, VERY helpful when you get stuck on something:

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w/in ... umentation

you can also access these pages by going to Help - help topics in Hammer.

World Brush - An obect in the world that was created by a mapper. Hammer has different shapes to create to accomodate your needs. Cubes, circles, arches, cylinders, wedges, and more . All can be transformed, carved, hollowed, stretched, rotated, and skewed

wiki - http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Brush